2022 Architectural Photography Awards ‘Editor’s Choice Award’ & Contest Update

2022 Architectural Photography Awards ‘Editor’s Choice Award’ & Contest Update

APA Awards Competitions News

While we wait for the judges to put their finishing touches on their selections of winners for the 2022 Architectural Photography Awards, we thought it would be fun to comb through the submissions ourselves!

There are so many stunning photographs that have been submitted this year, and we are eager to show off the sheer amount of talent here, so we’ve decided to introduce a new bonus category in the meantime:

The Editor’s Choice Award

We’ve gone through all of the entries separately from the judges and selected our 10 favorite photographs from each category, which we’ve listed here in alphabetical order. While no trophy or cash is awarded for this bonus announcement (this year, at least!), we hope you have a blast looking through these beautiful entries, and know they will whet your appetite for the judges’ selection of winners!

Please note that these selections have no basis on the outcome of the original contest – inclusion here does not mean an entry is more or less likely to win in the judged contest, and vice versa. We were so blown away by the entries that we wanted to share our own personal favorites, and the judges choices may be different! It is honestly so humbling to look through all of these entries and realize the incredible quality of architectural photography all around the world.

Out of courtesy for the judges’ schedules, we’ve extended the date that we plan to announce the winners. You can expect to hear about the finalists at the beginning of April. So, while you hang tight for just a little while longer, here are the APALMANAC favorites from this year’s contest:

2022 Emerging Talent Editor’s Choices

Aiste Rakauskaite

Carlos Rollan

Florence Vesval

Fred Howarth

Kathy Wallace

Laura Deus

Lindsey Reid

Matthew Watson

Patrick Martinez

Pekka Lähteenmäki

2022 Photo of the Year Editor’s Choices

doublespace photography – The Well Toronto

Carlos Velez – Jewish Musem Berlin

Chris Cooper – CRTKL Jefferson Health Cherry Hill Hospital

Gabriele Sotgiu – Architect Fuksas

Gerry O’Leary – Geo Forma (Maraya Concert Hall)

Hugo Lütcherath – Tommie Wilhelmsen’s Villa By The Sea

Jim Stephenson – Hotel La Tour by pHp Architects

Robert Herrmann – Sächsische Aufbaubank in Leipzig, designed by acme

Ryan Gobuty – Antinori Winery

Tom Harris – 11 Hoyt by Studio Gang

2022 Project of the Year Editor’s Choices

Alex Nye – NAS Lemoore F-35 Hangar & Airfield for Cass Sowatsky Consulting Architects

Brand Feinknopf – Youngmeyer Ranch

Cameron Murchison – Cliffhanger by Joe Adsett Architects

Catalin Marin – Be’ah HQ

Dan Ryan – Noir Peaks by The Ranch Mine

Jim Stephenson – Camel Quarry House by McLean Quinlan

Martin Nilsen
– The Twist

Runzi Zhu – Yuandang Bridge

Trent Bell – Harbor Point

Yi-Hsien Lee
– Kaohsiung Music Center

Tune back in at the beginning of April to see the winners and finalists of the 2022 Architectural Photography Awards!

Mike Kelley is an architecture and interiors photographer who has photographed projects all over the world. He is a self proclaimed airplane food enthusiast and the founder of the Architectural Photography Almanac.
Shopping cart0
There are no products in the cart!